I know what I like….

Thoughts on my art collection

Homeworld? by Andrew Skilleter

Leave a comment

ZYGON ART

Here we have a top-notch painting by Andrew Skilleter. I commissioned this from him a few years ago now, and it was my first experience of commissioning art from a professional. I was very nervous when I typed out the email, not knowing what to expect. Thankfully the experience was thoroughly enjoyable, and Andrew was very helpful and patient.

There can’t be many Doctor Who fans of a certain age that didn’t love the work of Mr Skilleter firstly on the covers to the Target books, and then on the BBC Videos (any younger readers will have to Google what a video was). This was the reason I went to Andrew – I grew up with his art, and often copied his trying to get a good. I could never work out why my fog and clouds didn’t look like his; I had never heard of an airbrush!

For this painting, I asked for zygons coming out of the mist, on an alien planet, possibly their homeworld so with alien flora. I asked for this, as I think Andrew has a very identifiable way of rendering them, and if I was going to have a painting by him it should be one that showcases everything that he does well. I know he captures a good actor’s likeness, but I like to have my commissions mostly Doctorless. I was greatly influenced by the back-up strips in Doctor Who Weekly, and like the ‘expanded’ world of ‘Who

More of Andrew’s work can be seen here

http://andrewskilleter.com/

https://www.facebook.com/artofandrewskilleter?sk=app_4949752878

 

Leave a Reply

